Why I Love My Favorite TV Shows

So I just finished watching the latest episode of Masters of Sex.  It is a show that is loosely based upon the groundbreaking research into sex and sexual dysfunction conducted by Bill Masters and Virginia Johnson – very loosely based.  The show revolves around this research to some degree but has veered off into several mostly or completely fictional plot lines that likely bear little or no resemblance to the actual activities of Bill Masters and Virginia Johnson or their families.  That introduction was much more clinical that I was planning.

I am usually sad when I finish watching an episode of this show, not because of the content of the show, though it is often heavy, but because the characters are so well-written and compelling and well, perhaps the element of their dysfunctionality is something that I can relate to on a deep level.  Being able to connect with the dark parts of peoples’ lives on such an intimate level, though it be through a fictional television show, is something that my soul needs and I don’t get enough of.

I’m finding words inadequate to convey my feelings at this time.  I want to gush over this show.  Some episodes are better than others and perhaps I am a bit more maudlin at the moment because the show is nearing its season finale and the emotional crescendo is amping itself up for next week’s final episode.  Perhaps my attachment to the show is merely a reflection of my own dysfunctionality?  I don’t think you have to be dysfunctional to enjoy this show however.  I will not endeavor to explain the current plot lines, as the series is approaching the end of season three, but I do recommend the show.  It’s certainly not everyone’s cup of tea but worth checking out.

There is some awesome television writing happening these days and I’m not sure that all of it is getting the attention that it deserves.

My other favorite show is Rectify, which follows the life of a man recently released from death row due to DNA evidence indicating that he may not be the perpetrator of the horrible crime that put him in jail for almost two decades as a teenager.  Was that a run on sentence?  At any rate this show is equally awesome, and well, actually better, as it hasn’t yet fallen into the trap that “Masters of Sex” has fallen into of perhaps creating too many seasons and having to dig for more intrigue and plot that could have been truncated.  But I still love “Masters of Sex”, it sort of veers off course at times but then it comes back and hits you in the gut.

Rectify on the other hand is simpler and more poetic than “Masters of Sex”.  The plight of the main character, Daniel Holden, is so…I can’t quite think of a word adequate to describe it.  These characters seem very real to me and getting involved with their journeys is…television that you can get lost in for a while.  I read a description of how the writer of the show takes great care when creating each scene and it definitely shows in the outcome. This description hasn’t really done the show justice.    I like the show.  You should watch it – if you like that kind of emotional connection anyway.

I will end by mentioning yet another show that I found myself attached to, “Six Feet Under”.  The show ended ten years ago, but it is still one of my favorites.  I will just say that I sobbed pretty much uncontrollably as I watched the end of the final episode.  I’m guessing others may have shared this experience.  I know that one of the creators of the show did, as I watched the DVD commentary and he described the same reaction in himself.

Oh, watching great TV, it really makes watching the average stuff seem so much worse. Thank you to all of you great writers out there.

This entry was posted in Television and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

