My Experience with Self-Improvement and the Emotional Freedom Technique

Early last year I got on a self-improvement kick.  I started watching some very male-oriented self-improvement videos on YouTube.  The videos emphasized maintaining daily habits, especially meditating, and taking action – not just absorbing information, but putting that information to use.  The menfolk always like to take action!!  Which is appealing in many ways, but detrimental in others.

So I tried a simple habit of meditating and exercising every day.  It was difficult.  Especially trying to exercise vigorously every day.  It started to break me down.  After a week or two of meditating and exercising every day I just felt exhausted and then the self loathing began.  “You lazy slob…why can’t you…?”

Then I started to ask myself why I needed to beat myself up so much.  It was so counterproductive and plain old just bad for you in all kinds of ways.  Why did I have so much self-hatred anyway?  I know I’m definitely not a model human being, but I haven’t done anything worthy of such scorn.  And I would never treat anyone else so badly, even someone that I didn’t like.

That’s when I discovered the Emotional Freedom Technique through some online marketing stuff.  I don’t mean for this to sound like an infomercial.  Many blog posts do seem to sound like infomercials.  I had never thought that much about all of this emotional release and therapy and whatever that people like to talk about.  Everyone who writes about it on the internet seems to be fully informed about all aspects of it and are on the road to diligently informing others on the topic.  I don’t find a lot of newbies writing on the topic and feeling confused.

Ha, my ego wants to sound all informed and aware, but that is not me.  I’m am confused and curious I guess.  I like to question everything.  But there are so many things that I have experienced that I cannot explain with mainstream knowledge.  When I’m around woo woo spiritual people I feel kind of like an alien.  I cannot just accept everything that they are saying at face value.  I would like more proof.  But proof is hard to come by in the spiritual arena.

At any rate,  I started doing the EFT technique while listening to the interviews of famous people who promote it through the online marketing business and I could definitely feel a shift in my emotional state.  It really did feel like I was letting some of my negativity go.  It’s hard to describe unless you try it.  Then I started doing the EFT on my own when I would feel my negative emotions bubbling up.  I felt some huge shifts surrounding expressing my authentic self and in a lot of other sore spots of my emotional health.

I got all excited about this and started telling other people about it, and didn’t get a great response.  I guess people assume that you are trying to tell them that you think there is something wrong with them and that you want to fix them.  That never goes over well – lesson learned.  Others just seem to think it was too weird or whatever.  I guess you really need to be in that space where you are ready and looking for this kind of thing before you will embrace it.

In case you are indeed a newbie to this topic, EFT is not some expensive treatment or something difficult to learn.  It is just a simple exercise where you tap on certain parts of your head and body while saying statements.  The statement that I am most familiar with is “Even though I..(fill in the blank with your issue)…I still deeply and completely love myself.”  There are a lot of variations and things you can say while moving through your tapping points, but this is what most people start out with I guess.  There are lots of YouTube videos and what not about it so you don’t have to pay anyone teach it to you.  It will only take you a few minutes to learn it.

I have gotten out of the habit of practicing EFT.  I need to get back into it.  I need to get back into a lot of other habits as well of course.  It seems there just aren’t enough hours in the day.  But I can say that I haven’t gone on a self-hating rant since finding the technique so that’s something.

Just an idea though, if you are into saying affirmations, try saying your affirmations while doing EFT.  You might be surprised at the results.

Life is weird.  I sound like such a kid.  Meh.  I am supposed to be wise and experienced by this age – aren’t I?

I just know that I don’t know much.

5 Things I’m Grateful For

  1. Emotional Freedom Technique
  2. Online marketing companies – despite the massive amount of marketing emails that I receive
  3. Tropical Fields Crispy Coconut Rolls – yummy!
  4. Toilet paper
  5. The Tapping Solution – the online company that introduced me to EFT

 

Have you tried EFT?  What is your experience with it?  Drop me a note.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Self Improvement, spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

