My IMAX 3D Sensory Overload Experience

So yesterday night I watched Rogue One at an IMAX theater in 3D.  Holy hell – it was loud.  Thank goodness I  had some earplugs handy.  I don’t think I could have handled that noise level without them.  The screen was just so in-your-face that he action scenes just kind of got lost in a blur.

When the ads first started I felt the sudden need to get out of there – a mild anxiety attack I guess.  I don’t usually experience that.  It passed after a few moments though and then just turned into wondering how long this movie was going to take to be over.  I also felt trapped there as the aisles were so close together that it would have been very difficult to get out of there if I needed to.  The whole massacre at the Batman movie scenario did come to mind as well.

It didn’t help that the first movie trailer was for a movie called Dunkirk and involved a whole bunch of soldiers who looked like they were about to get bombed to smithereens.  Let’s have that full sensory experience – no thanks.

On the HSP scale I’m guessing that I’m on the lower end because I can handle loud violence.  It’s when the movie starts to get very emotionally involving and violent that I really begin to cringe.  Luckily the characters in Rogue One weren’t very well developed so when they started getting killed off it really wasn’t all that concerning to me.

I always remember watching the movie Reservoir Dogs and how visceral my reaction to it was and how unsettled I felt after watching it.  I do not like watching people get tortured, oh no.  I remember my roommate asking me what I thought of the movie – she asked if I thought it was funny.  I was thinking oh my goodness – we really are birds of a different feather.  I told her “disturbing” is more the word I would use to describe it.

5 Things I Am Grateful For

  1. Clean, empty spaces
  2. The cute noises that cats make sometimes
  3. The internet
  4. Shoes
  5. Clean clothes
This entry was posted in Blogging, HSP, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

