Coming Out of the Blogging Closet

This is my secret blog.  I only told my best friend about it.  I don’t think I will tell anyone else about it.  I don’t know.

I think about creating a blog that I promote to the whole world via Facebook and whatever.  But that always seems so conceited.  “Come look at me and my great blog!!  My life is so interesting!”

But I would like to read a daily blog from the people I know.  Even if it wasn’t that exciting.  My friends and family are scattered around and Facebook doesn’t really reveal the kind of things that I want to hear about in their daily lives.

I feel like WordPress is not such a friendly place for me.  Perhaps that is just me projecting my feelings of inadequacy onto the blogosphere.  Ha.  I get the feeling my comments piss people off.  Perhaps that is just paranoia.  I’m going to refrain from comments for a while.

I guess I have so many conflicting feelings about myself and where I stand in the world that making any kind of a public appearance is problematic – even if it is just a blog appearance.

People talk about blending in and changing your personality to fit in with whomever you’re with.  I definitely do that.  But I don’t think I can do it anymore.  I am just blending into nothing and not taking a stand on anything.  It is not healthy.

But people who are used to you being the way you are do not like change.  Oh no they do not.

I’m sorry if I offended anyone with my comments.  And perhaps therein lies the problem.  Perhaps I’m not so sorry.

Needy blogging – a good way to repulse potential blog readers.

This entry was posted in Authenticity, Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Coming Out of the Blogging Closet

  1. I think that every blogger doubts what they are doing at some point in time- but think about this- is it helping you? If so- keep doing it. Share what you think will help others and just enjoy the process.

  2. Steven F says:

    This is your blog, and you don’t ever need to be sorry for venting your own feelings on it. I see mine as a therapy and a release

    Definitely know what you mean about people being sheep.

  3. I have a secret blog too! Yey you! for taking the huge step of sharing yourself with the world. Only a handful of people that I know are aware that my blog exists – and none of them are visitors. That is how it has to be for now, as I find my voice and build up courage to share ‘ME’. The real me, the me I am only just finding myself. I personally have found the blogosphere a surprisingly supportive and positive place – in the main people’s comments are so encouraging – and it is amazing how many people, struggling with the same human stuff you end up engaging with. Keep at it, you are doing great as far as I can tell 🙂

  4. Cinnamon says:

    Hi, I can relate so much. Conflicting feelings within myself – check, Secret blog(s) – check, feeling like an inadequate blogger – check, changing my personality based on who I am with…yeah. Not sure what to say. I think you actually motivated me just now to keep writing, even when I feel like what I write is not “good enough”. Blogs are for personal expression and that should be always good enough as it is about being genuine (trying to motivate myself here too :))

Leave a Reply

