More Random Thoughts on EFT, New Age Spirituality, Etc.

Yet again my mind swirls with a hodgepodge of potential blog topics.  I can’t seem to focus on any one of them long enough to write a coherent blog post.

So I found a bunch of YouTube videos with EFT scripts made by Brad Yates.  I’ve been doing some of those.  I will post those at the bottom of this if anyone is interested.  He has really made a ton of videos so it’s likely you could find one that applies to you.

New Age spirituality concepts have been swirling around my mind.  I think maybe the EFT brought this on.  I don’t know.  At any rate the conflict that often rears its ugly head is me trying to get my head around the idea that I should follow my highest excitement – get in the vortex – follow my bliss – and stop worrying about the details, planning, stressing out and wearing out my brain.  I find that it’s true that whenever I try to “figure it out” I just get overwhelmed and then my mood sinks and I just can’t seem to get motivated to move in any direction.  I just want to be in the moment and talk to my cat or go sit in the sunlight.

Is this New Age thinking just overly optimistic bullshit that will lead to a life of serious flakiness.  I couldn’t really say because I never followed the advice.  I’ve always kept one foot in both camps and that hasn’t worked very well at all.  I get halfway to San Diego and then drive home I suppose – as an analogy of Abraham that I’ve heard.

So I heard that message from another YouTube guru yesterday.  But he was talking about how the first part of your life is spent planning, acquiring, achieving – thinking your way through it all.  But he said that is second half should be spent more living in the moment.  I just wish I had planned out the first half better so I would feel more free to live in the moment in this half.  But I cannot change the past.  Who knows what fantastic thing my vortex could deliver to me that could change everything right?

But is that just more wishful thinking?

I should put my nose to the grindstone and get my shit together and work hard and build whatever it is I’m supposed to build and blah blah blah.  I’m supposed to be disciplined.

I am making this too complicated.  I just want to feel useful to the world.  I can put up with all kinds of bullshit and whatnot if I feel like I’m making a valuable contribution – even if it is just doing mundane things.  I make it all too complicated.

I think of the Borg in Star Trek – it’s all laid out for them.  No thinking required.  Not that I’m hoping to assimilate anyone of course.  They make their contribution to the collective and follow the hive mind.

I seem to keep deleting the best comments that people make by accident. Damn it I just deleted a really good one.  What the heck?  Don’t be offended if I managed to delete your comment somehow.  Argh.

I was going to write a bunch more stuff about EFT and energy medicine and how I’m trying to wrap my mind around it.  I feel like it sounds like such bullshit.  I wouldn’t think much about it unless I had experienced the healing power that it has.  I feel like I’m supposed to be an advocate for it, at least on some small level.  But it all sounds like such bulls**t.  Me and my conflicted mind.  Perhaps my life was meant to serve as some tentative bridge between the world of logic and reason and the weird woowooness that is emerging on the planet.

OMG this post is a mess.  I sound like I’m bipolar in the manic phase or something.  Should I even post this?  Haven’t I written a post like this before?

Okay – links to EFT videos.  I will have to find the one about focusing your mind and try that one today.  Here are the two videos that I did yesterday.

 

I definitely have more energy in the last day or so.  Can I attribute this to EFT?  Perhaps.  I was in a real slump there for a while.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Emotional Healing, spirituality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Random Thoughts on EFT, New Age Spirituality, Etc.

  1. Cinnamon says:

    I don’t know if my mind will ever let me plunge into the “new age” world and leave me alone and happy there. Actually I had tried, and been there for a while, but I had the same issue, I felt so inspired, so in the clouds, but I just couldn’t live it out in the real world, it was all dreams, and it was so beautiful and I believed everything because this is what I do, I sit down and let others program my mind and make me become the reflection of what they believe in. And it lasts for a while, until I fall again. I’ve tried EFT too, for example, and it might have helped, but I don’t know why I can’t stick with it as i can’t stick with anything 🙂 I am like, hey, this is amazing, this is what I believe in now. Then I meet people who present me another perspective and I’m like, oh, well, you make so much sense to me, and I just throw off the pedestal the prior “amazing” belief or idea.

    • Yes, I can’t seem to stick with anything long enough to see much benefit. I have been doing the EFT every day for the last week or so. I find that when I start doing it though a big side effect is that I really begin to realize how dissatisfied I am with my life. This would probably be a good thing if I could formulate a clear plan for improving things but I am not doing very well at that. Money, beliefs, relationships. career – all things I cannot seem to get a good grip on at the moment.

Leave a Reply

